72nd Annual Dar Curtis Bonspiel

Beginning in 1947, the Dar Curtis Bonspiel is the oldest statewide curling competition held in Illinois. The event allows players who are generally leads, seconds, and new vice skips the chance to compete together and to dictate their strategic game. Both men and women curl in the open event sponsored by the Illinois Curling Association.

This year, 12 teams played in the two-day event hosted by Exmoor Country Club. After four-end games on both Saturday and Sunday, teams enjoyed popcorn, drinks, and lively conversations at Exmoor’s Oakhouse. Thank you to all the clubs who attended the bonspiel and congratulations to all the winners and runner-ups!

We look forward to seeing everyone again at the next Dar Curtis Bonspiel!

1st Event Winner: Chicago Curling Club 

Nick Koch, Michael Graef, Eliot Zeissler, and Jimmy Klus

1st Event Runner-up: Exmoor Country Club

Steve Goldman, Gordon Buntrock, Pete Barber, and Jay Koziarz

2nd Event Winner: Windy City Curling Club

Anthony D’Arco, Scott Maples, Megan Maples, and Heidi Osborn

2nd Event Runner-up: Exmoor Country Club

Jeff Warner, Steve Worth, Anthony Fowler, Gloria Fowler, Jim Millspaugh, and Matt Anderson

3rd Event Winner: Chicago Curling Club

Lorna Cagann, Matt Hiller, Cassie Stark, and Adam Esch

3rd Event Runner-up: Windy City Curling Club

Tonya Henderson, George Collins, Jon Henderson, and Carol Collins

4th Event Winner: Chicago Curling Club

Staffan Axelsson, Jinnel Choiniere, Randy Choiniere, and Chris Hadac

4th Event Runner-up: St. Louis Curling Club

Annie Saltarikos, Eric Pauls, Mitch Stoddard, and Donna Farver