8th Annual Prairie State Challenge

Established in 2012, the Prairie State Challenge was created to give curlers, especially those who don’t have dedicated facilities, the opportunity to get on the ice for an exciting weekend of comradery, gameplay, and socialization. Sponsored by the Midwest Curling Association, this open event is free to MCA members and provides curlers the chance to mingle with other teams in the Midwest region at the beginning of the curling season.

This year, 20 teams from seven regional curling clubs played in the two-day event hosted by Exmoor Country Club and Chicago Curling Club. After the cancelation of the event in 2020 due to the pandemic, we were excited to welcome teams back on the ice. Thanks to all those who participated, and congratulations to all the winners and runner-ups!

We look forward to seeing everyone again at the next Prairie State Challenge!

1st Event Winner: Chicago Curling Club

Ryan Murphy, Katherine Stewart, Aaron Horowitz, and Stephanie Martin (not pictured)

1st Event Runner-up: Windy City Curling Club

Bella Hagenbuch, Genevieve Salander, Mae Hagenbuch, Brianna Massey

2nd Event Winner: Waltham Curling Club

Maxwell Salander, Logan Brandner, Logan Fahr, Dagen Setchell

2nd Event Runner-up: Exmoor Country Club

David Kassner (only one pictured), Steve Wright, Chris Schallmo, Wilson Gottschild, and Koen Brown

3rd Event Winner: Cedar Rapids Curling Club

Cale Tesch, Andy Beland, Emily Johnson, Robert Wallraff

3rd Event Runner-up: Exmoor Country Club

Anthony Fowler, Gloria Chao, Kevin Burns, Elaine Burns

4th Event Winner: Chicago Curling Club

Matt Peterson, Staffan Axelsson, Randall Cross, Eric Bertram

4th Event Runner-up: Chicago Curling Club

Tycho Spadaro, Gregory Dowell, Steven Coberly, and Missy Dowling